Weeknote 8/2015

Pic of the week

Dad and son selfie

Mammy was away this weekend so things got messy!

What have I been up to?

As you may, or may not, know — last week’s weeknote was a little on the sombre side although it was the first poem I’ve written and made public. I’ve tried to catch-up on everything I missed out on in this post.

I attended Jisc DigiFest, helping out on the Digital Dream Wall where art students from Guildford College visualised attendees’ digital challenges and aspirations. There was a fantastic buzz around the place, if you couldn’t make it you can always catch-up with the recordings.

I was interviewed about Digital Leadership which will feed into a scoping report for Jisc. The discussion I had focused on what Jisc might be able to do, and for me I think it’s a bit of a no brainer. Simon Nelson (Futurelearn), at DigiFest, mentioned that they are being asked to run a course on digital skills. Every project I’ve been involved in, staff/student skills always comes up. I don’t understand why Jisc isn’t delivering this (maybe there are some conversations ongoing that I’m unaware of) but I think we have enough experience, background research, and contacts to make this happen. Let’s see what comes out of the scoping report.

Our team, Jisc North, held a team meeting at Leeds Beckett University to reflect on the first ten weeks in operation and plan for the next ten weeks ahead. It was also a great chance to meet new team members (we’ll soon be up to full strength), and an opportunity for sub-groups to share key information. I have to say that my new boss is doing an excellent job in bringing the team together — almost family-like which makes work an absolute pleasure.

We’re currently re-procuring the Yorkshire and the Humber regional network, currently in a consultation phase and so I sent out a request to all of my accounts in that region for information regarding their future requirements. We’ve had a positive response so far which has also resulted in a number of site visits being arranged.

I also had a couple of calls with colleges last week to introduce myself. It was interesting listening to their existing challenges and what they’re focusing on. Although there was a sense of need, in terms of what Jisc can offer, they struggled to answer the question “if Jisc could do anything for you, no restraints, what would that be?” I have a feeling that the Johari window model is going to be useful for Jisc Account Managers to bear in mind.

Things that caught my attention

Recipes of the week

Two recipes for you this week:

Share your thoughts and ideas...

