Weeknote 2/2015

I can’t believe week two is over already!

Pic of the week

Trip with the family at Hardwick park

Trip with the family at Hardwick park

Working from home

Our team is still very much in the “forming” stage and so we’re still assessing organisational routines, who does what and when, assessing the task in hand and how to approach it. The new team has been extremely welcoming and I’m already learning a great deal from each team member. I mentioned last week I’d provide greater detail on my role soon, I think I’ll cover that in a post along with some information on our team.

Being new to home-working I set myself a routine last week—getting up at 06:30, head out for a short run, make and have breakfast with the family, catch-up with news and blogs before starting at 09:00, drinking more water and taking regular breaks, and heading out for a walk at lunchtime.

It’s still work in progress, especially regular breaks and drinking more water, but I have to say that a morning run has really lifted my mood and set me up for the day ahead. I’m hoping to keep the morning routine up and use some form of reminder system to get into the habit of taking regular breaks and ensuring I drink more water.

My home office still isn’t fully functioning but it should hopefully be complete by the end of next week. My desk is due to be delivered on Tuesday, we’re having some new blinds fitted on Friday and I’m hoping to complete a DIY shelving project. The bean bag has been a life saver so far!

Customer Relationship Management (CRM)

I attended a CRM training session towards the end of the week and was quite impressed by the progress being made in this area. I sometimes wonder, however, whether or not there should be a distinction between CRM training and “CRM system” training. The training was focused on our new system whereas, for me personally, that’s just a small piece of a much larger puzzle. Jisc’s own definition makes this quite clear:

CRM is a management strategy to generate enhanced value for the institution organisation, its customers and partners through co-ordinated information management, contact management and marketing, supporting relationship development and bringing enhanced business intelligence and sustainability across the organisation. [Jisc, 2010]

I know there is a lot more that underpins the organisational approach to CRM and I guess I’m just keen to understand more!

Food

Purchase of the week has to be the “Leon: Family & Friends” cookbook. We managed to pick it up for £10 at TK Maxx. It’s got a good mix of recipes and so far so good. Favourite so far, surprisingly, was a very simple chorizo and halloumi salad.

Share your thoughts and ideas...

