Weeknote 02/2013

Revision

This week

  • I’ve spent a great deal of time revising for an exam on business finance. I’ve found some aspects quite interesting e.g. the difference between accounting and business finance; the relationship between directors and shareholders; the steps in financial decision making; and Net Present Value, especially with regards to decision-making.
  • Planning for the strategic visioning workshop I mentioned last week is coming along. @MumManJac and I developed a draft agenda and are pretty set on the participatory approaches we’re going to use to facilitate the day. Graffiti Walls, H-Forms, Spider Diagrams, Bean Counting, and Road Maps – all in a days work. Just need to sort out the details to ensure the day runs smoothly.
  • I attended UCISA‘s Enterprise Architecture Community of Practice start-up meeting last week. I came away with an action of setting up a wiki where members can begin to develop their vision, baseline current activities, define their principles and begin to flesh out a roadmap of activities. Job done, just awaiting some feedback before we can send out the invitations. Looks like this will be after 24th May.
  • My appraisal is coming up at the end of the month. I’ve been preparing for that. In doing so I’ve asked colleagues I work with if they could provide me with some external feedback. To accomplish this I set up a Google Form. You can see my template here.
  • I also handed in my research proposal this week. Many thanks to @MumManJac for her advice and guidance!

Lessons learned

  • I need to be more confident in my own abilities. Had some amazing comments back as part of my appraisal survey so far. I think it stems from a fear of failure and putting a lot of pressure on myself to perform well. I guess I need to lighten up a bit :-)
  • I came across a nice definition of Risk and Uncertainty this week worth sharing. Uncertainty – anything not known about the outcome of a venture when a decision is made. Risk – a measurement of loss, identified as a possible outcome of the decision (not necessarily money). For risk, I wonder if you could widen it to say a measurement of loss/gain.
  • I only recently came across Net Present Value (NPV) when studying for my most recent exam. It’s a method of assessing investment opportunities – a very good one at that but I’ll not bore you with the details here. For anyone interested in Project Management I’d recommend looking it up.

Of interest

Share your thoughts and ideas...

