Weeknote 01/2013

This week

  • I managed to get my last assignment of this year handed in early. Just an exam on 8th and my research proposal to be in by 10th May. Thinking of benchmarking project management practices across UK higher education for my research. Why? I strongly believe sound project management, whether agile or prescriptive, can help organisations thrive. If we know where we stand we can begin to move forward.
  • We had a quarterly team planning meeting which went very well. Managed to do some planning for a strategic visioning workshop I’m running with @MumManJac and @whaa.
  • I’ve been working a lot with @elliogem on our communications strategy. In particular we’ve been working on a new template to help with the launch/dissemination of new/updated resources. Read more about that on Jisc infoNet’s team blog.
  • There’s an appetite across UK further and higher education for more support around Enterprise Architecture (EA). I attended a meeting on Thursday looking at how UCISA can take this forward. @daveberry33 provides a nice summary of the day on his blog – Distributed Thinking – and you can follow progress via twitter using #ucisa_ea. Watch this space…

Lessons learned

  • It’s the little things that count. A colleague sent me an email thanking me for my help in pulling together a meeting agenda. It wasn’t a big deal but their kind words went a long way!

Of interest

Is an obsession with measurement, and even with ‘evidence’, a sign of a culture which has lost confidence in its values?

Share your thoughts and ideas...

